The course is flat and is suitable for golfers of all ages and abilities. From the course and clubhouse, there are superb views of Snowdonia and over Cardigan Bay to the Cambrian Mountain range, and the Clubhouse is closer to the sea than any other Golf Clubhouse in the U.K.
The first 9 holes were designed by Tom Morris of Hoylake in 1900 and ran along the sand dunes. The course was extended to 18 holes in 1909 when the course architect was 5 times British Open Champion James Braid.
The then President of the Board of Trade, David Lloyd George officially opened the extended course on the 1st June 1909. Pwllheli has often been described as a unique golf course with 9 holes being gentle parkland and 9 holes being a true test of links golf. The course measures 6,108 yards par 69 with a SSS of 70 for the men and 5,224 yards par and SSS of 71 for the ladies.
In 1998, in a survey for golf monthly magazine by a group of independent golf panelists, amongst them Walker Cup captain Peter McEvoy, Pwllheli was listed as one of 7 Welsh golf clubs to appear on the “Top 200 Courses in Britain” – a fact that the Club is proud of. Within the last three years the Course has enjoyed recognition by both the Welsh Golfing Union (WGU) and the Welsh Ladies’ Golf Union (WLGU). In 2000 the Welsh Boys’ Championship was held in Pwllheli, followed in 2002 by the Welsh Ladies’ Team Championship.